Skip to Main Content

Highlights of the November 2014 Board Meeting

November 26, 2014

GUELPH, Ontario – The November 2014 meeting of the Upper Grand District School Board was held on Tuesday, November 25. The following are highlights from the meeting.

New East Guelph School to be constructed

The Board approved a new, 495 pupil place JK-grade 8 school to be constructed on Couling Crescent in the east end of Guelph. Permission from the Ministry of Education had been obtained earlier this year to build the school, which is required due to accommodation pressures in East Guelph elementary schools. The target budget is $8.47 million, which is funded through savings made on other projects, disposition funds and a contribution of $1.45 million from the Ministry for the Full Day Kindergarten potion of the project. The school will open as soon as possible (target date January 2017).

Based on the size of the site and the need to build the school as soon as possible, the board will use a repeat design of its new École Arbour Vista PS with modifications, as required. Accordingly the same architect will be used, Hossack and Associates. This compresses the design process, and the Building Committee will be replaced by a User Advisory Committee. Site access and the building’s location need to be worked out with the City of Guelph.

Eligibility Lists – Elementary and Secondary

Lisa Doering, Ozma Masood, Rochelle Murray-Cako and Julie Young have been placed on the Elementary Principal Eligibility List.

Olivier Cutz, Tim Dickieson, Amy Ewing, Nicole Hamilton, Marina Harrison, Suzee Kennedy, Kaye Martin, Tammy Reiner and Dianna Secord have been placed in the Elementary Vice-Principal Eligibility List.

Added to the Secondary Principal Eligibility List are Francis Noventa and John Colton, with Adam Rowden added to the Secondary Vice-Principal Eligibility list.

Principal and Vice Principal Transfers and Appointments – Effective January 2015

Rochelle Murray-Cako, currently VP at Taylor Evans Public School will be appointed principal at Central Public School, effective January 1, 2015. Tim Dickieson, a Teacher at Minto-Clifford PS will take over as VP at Taylor Evans PS on the same date.

The following principals are no longer acting: Julie Young at Victory PS and Lisa Doering, Rockwood Centennial PS.

The following vice-principals are no longer temporary: Olivier Cutz, John McCrae PS; Any Ewing, Kortright Hills PS; Nicole Hamilton, Erin PS; Marina Harrison, Paisley Road PS; Suzee Kennedy, Glenbrook ES and Dianna Secord, Montgomery Village PS.

Orangeville Board Office to be renamed for Grant Evans

The Orangeville Board office will be renamed The Grant Evans Education Centre after the former Director of the Dufferin County Board of Education. Mr. Evans has accepted the honour. Details of the re-naming celebration will be announced at a later date.

Trustee Expenses

Trustee expenses for the 2013-14 financial year were received by the Board. The expenses, totaling $32,647, include trustee spending on professional development, travel, office supplies and meeting expenses. The total is for the 10 trustees and two student trustees. The expenses will be posted on the Board’s website.

Renewal Projects

Trustees received a report from the Capital Renewal and Projects Department outlining the renewal projects planned for this school year (2014-15) and proposed projects for 2015-16. The forecasted plans for renewal often change substantially between forecast and final implementation based on such things as emergencies, unforeseen equipment failures and priority changes within the system. Renewal monies come from the Ministry in two ways, renewal funds of $5 million and a Building Condition Improvement Grant of approximately $3.7million. The money pays for electrical upgrades, flooring, roof replacements, cooling towers and many other projects.

Policies Approved

Two new policies were approved by the Board. New policy #515, Learning Choices, establishes a policy and procedures for the board to consider new elementary and secondary programs with a special focus for students, providing them with more opportunities for learning. The International Baccalaureate Program offered through GCVI is one of the programs covered by this policy, as are CELP and Headwaters (environmental programs).

Policy #304, Transportation was also amended. This reduces the walking distance from 2.4 kilometres to 1.6 kilometres for grade 2 to grade 6 students beginning in September 2015. Walking distances remain the same for the other grade groups. The change will cost the board approximately $420,000 additional money, and 447 students will be affected, based on the current school year.

Audited Financial Statements

Trustees approved the board’s 2013-14 Audited Financial Statements and the Trust Funds Financial Statements, prepared by KPMG. The financial statements are unqualified, which means they are clean. The board and the auditor thanked the Finance Department and chiefly, Superintendent Janice Wright, Budget Manager Sheila Parker and Manager of Financial Services Linda Bailey for their work in financial reporting. The audited statements will be posted on the board’s website.

Other Financial Matters

Two reports from the Audit Committee for the year ended August 31, 2014, the Annual Report to the Board of Trustees and the Annual Report to the Ministry of Education, were received by the Board. In addition, trustees received the Finance Department’s Annual Investment Report.

Board Correspondence

The board approved the writing of a letter from the Chair to Wellington County Council asking for flashing yellow lights to be installed to indicate the location of Brisbane PS on County Road 124. At the school the shoulders are narrow, and speeding has increased as well as the amount of traffic on the road. The issue of road and pedestrian safety is the County’s responsibility. Parents will also be asked to delegate County Council on this issue.

Trustees asked that the Chair’s letter to David Tilson, MP (Dufferin-Caledon) requesting the elimination of the Harmonized GST to all school boards also be sent to the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA), all Ontario public school boards and all local MPs.

The final meeting of the 2010-14 Board will be held on Tuesday, December 2, 2014 as will the Inaugural Meeting of the 2014-18 Board. The next regular monthly meeting of the Board will be held on December 16. All meetings begin at 7:00 pm in the Board Room at the Guelph Board Office at 500 Victoria Road North. Everyone is welcome to attend.

For more information:

Maggie McFadzen, Communications Officer
519-822-4420 ext.725
[email protected]

Mark Weidmark, Administrative Officer – Communications
519-822-4420 ext.544
[email protected]

Categories: News