Skip to Main Content

Trustee Linda Busuttil elected as Chair of the Upper Grand District School Board

For Immediate Release
December 1, 2021

GUELPH, Ontario – Trustee Linda Busuttil, the school board trustee for Wards 2, 3 and 4 in the City of Guelph, was elected Chair of the Upper Grand District School Board at the Inaugural meeting of the Board on November 30, 2021.

This is Trustee Busuttil’s third time elected as Chair. Busuttil was first elected as a trustee in 2006. She has served as Chair of the Board, Vice-Chair and Chair of numerous committees including Business Operations, Negotiating Steering, Audit, Property, and Strategic Planning.

In her address to the Board, Busuttil thanked the Board for their support and confidence and highlighted areas of focus for the year ahead.  

“I believe that there is an opportunity for us to capture our strategic directions and align with the sustainable development efforts of our students, staff and communities, focusing on the most pressing issues of climate change, inequality, poverty, hunger, education, jobs and health,” said Busuttil.

In her Inaugural Address, Busuttil spoke about the priorities of developing the Board’s strategic directions with a focus on student voice and equity, supporting staff in the development of the multi-year Strategic Plan and other key board plans, and reviewing the Board’s bylaws.

“This is an exciting time for the development of new and responsive systems in education. We need to encourage and support innovation and stretch our creativity, in our staff, and in ourselves,” said Busuttil.

Trustee Barbara Lustgarten-Evoy, who represents the Township of Centre Wellington, was acclaimed to serve as Vice-Chair of the Board.

The positions are for a one-year term ending November 30, 2022.

“I look forward to working with Chair Busuttil, Vice-Chair Lustgarten-Evoy and all Trustees as we focus our efforts in the new year on our strategic priorities to re-engage, refresh and reimagine learning and working at the Upper Grand District School Board,” said Director of Education Peter Sovran.

At the Inaugural meeting, trustees were also named to the Board’s various committees. Trustee Lustgarten-Evoy was elected Program Committee Chair, with Trustee Martha MacNeil serving as Vice-Chair. Trustee MacNeil was elected Business Operations Committee Chair, with Trustee Gail Campbell serving as Vice-Chair.

Trustee MacNeil will serve as a director on the Ontario Public School Board Association’s (OPSBA) Board of Directors. The organization is routinely called on by the provincial government for input and advice on legislation, labour negotiations and the impact of government policy directions.

The final meeting of the 2020-2021 Board preceded the Inaugural meeting. Trustees expressed their appreciation to the media for coverage of education issues during the past year and for their continued co-operation and help broadcasting school bus information on inclement weather days during the school year. They also expressed their appreciation to Director Martha Rogers and Director Peter Sovran for their co-operation and assistance during the past year, and to all staff members for their loyalty and dedication.

Categories: Media ReleasesNews