IB Diploma Programme Courses

How to Earn the Diploma

Students who pursue the IB Diploma must take six subjects: one each from Groups 1–5, and either one from Group 6 or a permitted substitute from one of the other groups (group 3 or group 4), as listed below.

Three subjects must be taken at Higher level (HL) and three at Standard level (SL). 

To be awarded an IB Diploma, candidates must fulfill these three core requirements, in addition to passing their subject examinations:

  • Extended essay (EE). 
  • Theory of knowledge (TOK). This course introduces students to theories about the nature and limitations of knowledge (basic epistemology) and provides practice in determining the meaning and validity of knowledge (critical thinking).
  • Creativity, activity, service (CAS). CAS aims to provide students with opportunities for personal growth, self-reflection, intellectual, physical and creative challenges, and awareness of themselves as responsible members of their communities.

IB Diploma Programme: courses currently on offer at GC

Group 1: Language A (English) HL Language and Literature


Group 2: Language B SL French

SL ab initio German

SL ab initio Spanish

Group 3: Individuals and Societies HL Economics

HL History

HL Psychology

Group 4: Sciences SL Biology

HL Biology

SL Chemistry

HL Chemistry

SL Physics

Group 5: Mathematics SL Mathematics Analysis and Approaches (science, business pathway)

SL Mathematics Applications and Interpretations (humanities, fine arts, social sciences pathway)

Group 6: The Arts HL Music

HL Theatre

HL Visual Arts

For the DP Course Descriptions and the corresponding OSSD Course Codes, please click the link below:

IB Course Descriptions 2023-2025